Please Help. Please Read. -Thank you.

This morning was very typical. It began with my three legged cat gently pawing at my face around 5am until I would struggle to get out of bed to feed him. I proceeded to get ready for work and have just enough time to grab a cup of coffee from uptown. As I was nearing work, the morning sun was blinding my still tired little eyes. I reached for the visor and pulled it down just slightly. A set of keys fell down and landed directly into my lap. (Please read blog entry Stranded With My Morning Jacket for an explanation.) At first, I was shocked and that quickly turned into feeling like a complete idiot. However, with a simple suggestion, I felt saved. I know this may sound silly, but for some reason or another, I was not meant to drive home that night. I believe that with all my heart. I can not recall putting my keys up above the visor, let alone why I’d ever put anything up there. So much in life will go unnoticed. In a way, I think we dodge tragedy often. Even during the worst of days, I think there is an explanation that will never be explained. Waiting on a train, spilled coffee, a sick child, or losing your keys. Something that could have happened, didn’t happen. I believe something powerful happened that night. A miserable night that could have been my saving grace.

I’ve been doing better lately. Taking everything one day at a time and keeping busy. I’ve said this before, but helping others makes me extremely happy. I feel an overpowering sense of worth. Before, I’d rely on others to help me, but now I’ve realized that it’s nearly impossible to have an identical sense of motivation and desire as another. Especially at the same time and for the same causes. I have to take this into my own hands.

However, I need your help. I do. Please consider. There is so much you can do and in so many ways on several different levels. I wanted to help others and that was the obvious goal. I’ve been drawn to the idea of helping children and perhaps even with special needs. Helping a foundation in Toledo, was also an ideal objective. I want to do something anyone can do, on their own time, raise money for it, make it fun, and possibly see rewards for your actions. I came up with the concept of simply carving pumpkins and donating $10 dollars to enter it in a contest where everyone can possibly win something. All you need to do is donate $10 dollars, carve a pumpkin, take a photo of it with feedlucaschildren somewhere near it. Done.

The photos will then go on a Facebook page, and Instagram. The most likes wins prizes donated by local businesses and people from within the community (hopefully everyone gets something). From October 1st – October 28th the contest will take place. If you wish to just donate a dollar and not enter, fantastic! All profits (100% go to http://www.feedlucaschildren.org/)

Every year, more than 30,000 children in Lucas County don’t have enough food to eat. When the school year ends, so do the school lunch programs that give most of them at least one meal a day. Poor and hungry, some children are so desperate they dive into dumpsters to search through the garbage for their next meal. Many children and families living in poverty don’t know where to turn for help. “Feed Lucas County Children (FLCC) isn’t a food bank or a soup kitchen. Instead, we’re a foundation that provides children with free meals that are balanced, healthy, and hot. Our program has coordinated a community-wide initiative involving over 80 agencies to offer a safe haven, educational programs, and sports during critical summer months,” says Tony Siebeneck, Executive Director of FLCC. “During the school year, these same agencies count on FLCC to increase the number of children attending after-school learning programs.”

You can feed all the hungry children at one of our food kitchens for…
a day ($63.90).
a week ($319.50).
two weeks it will cost ($868.50).
one month ($1,405.80).
one summer ($3,514.50).
Join us in the fight against childhood hunger. Just $10 per month can feed all the children at a site for two days – and every penny helps.

My goal is to feed enough children for one month. $1,405.80. I spoke with Emily from the organization and she was ecstatic. She asked what organization I was from. I said I wasn’t. She said amazing; we’re onboard.
I desperately need sponsors and donation before the 1st of October. A coupon for a Wendy’s Jr. Frosty, University of Toledo Football tickets, Walleye Tickets, OSU, BG, A free coffee, A free meal, gift cards, a hug, ANYTHING…..anything. If you know someone that can help, please let me know. This means the world to me and I can not allow any more attempts to fall through. Let’s make a difference.

Any information, comments, etc – ericshanteau@yahoo.com

Thank you sooo sooo much! I’m sure I’m leaving out details, but I had to get the word out quickly.

Leave a Reply

